I'm a talker. It's what I do. I talk to fill silences, I talk because I have a busy brain and there is a lot goin on in there. I talk because I like to share the wacky events that could only happen to me and my loved ones. But I listen as much as I speak. I like to connect with people. It's one of the reasons I am so good at my job. I have to be able to listen to what others are saying, to be able to respond properly and helpfully if the moms in my office or on the phone have concerns.
I have been 'spoken to' on numerous occasions about my excessive talking. If I am speaking with a coworker for more than 5 minutes,albeit almost always about work-related issues or clients, I am the naughty one who gets reprimanded. Ummm, was I talkin to myself, here? Every day for the past 2 weeks I have been cloistered in my office, self-exiled. I make a point to look extremely busy and overwhelmed. Luckily, I have the privilege to shut my door (usually a violation of policy) because it gets really busy and noisy in the hallways at times and I can't hear when I am trying to make follow-up phone calls. If I have been particularly quiet, the site manager (the same busy-body who has threatened to write me up for talking) feins concern. "It's just not like you," she says. For the past 3 days I have been locked away, working like a busy bee. I took the opportunity to file some paperwork in charts which are located in the reception area. One girl, M was relaying the events of her bachlorette party. I also needed to speak to D, who was on the phone with a chatty client. So I waited for D, file in hand and listened to M's delightfully drunken tale. Suddenly, SM (site mgr) bustled in and demanded we all get back to work. I was immediately hustled into her office. I am talking too much again, dilly-dallying even. I can't just stand around talkin.' I have to find something to do bc the Regional Mgr has been known to make pop-in visits. LIE! I know that isn't true because I have worked in this office for almost 2 years and that lady never shows up unless she is on the schedule. If she isn't on the sched but planning to drop by, she actually calls first. I didn't even bother to defend myself. Clearly, I am some sort of instigator of negative communication and it has to stop. I didn't bother to note that I had not even spoken one word during this instance, nor did I bring up that I was filing paper work and had a question for D. I just let it go.
I have defended myself in the past, but clearly I am a bad girl, the one to watch out for. I have no idea how I got this rep or what I did to deserve it. It was my belief that it took at least two people to have a conversation.
Guess I was wrong.
No comments:
Post a Comment