Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Nan Nan said WHAT??

My cousin Ron was having a bad day. In one afternoon he found out one of his best friends had suddenly passed away, his mother in law was admitted to the hospital due to a severe asthma attack and it was an overall crappy day at work. I am sure my cuz didn’t feel like entertaining, but as we (me, my daughter, and mine and Ron’s grandmother)were in town for only a short while, he felt obligated to have us, along with his parents, Gwen and Ronnie over for dinner. After feasting on delish NY-style takeout pizza, we were all hangin out trying to keep up Ron’s spirits. We discussed his 7 month old son and the cuteness of him. We watched some dude gorge himself with spicy foods on television.

Somehow the convo switched to the not-so-lighthearted subject of people with disabilities. We were trading tragic situations of those we know/have heard of when my 80 year old gramma perked up. “They was a boy in my Sundy School class borned with no eyelids.” Nan Nan began in a tired voice, thick with her Lincoln County, WV accent. We all expressed various degrees of surprise and pity.

“Yeah.” She said. “They fixed ‘eem up tho. After he was circumcised, they made eyelids out of the left over skin.” The room was quiet as everyone imagined the poor baby with no eyelids, how the doctors and surgeons would attach the skin without hurting the baby’s actual eyes. “Wow.” Someone said. “Is he okay now? Like, can you tell?”

Nan Nan shrugged a “Nah. He’s fine. …Just a little cockeyed.”

SILENCE.

Then complete uproar. O. M. G. We all DIED!!! I wasn’t the only one Ugly Laughing this time. Not only is my gramma an 80 year old life-long Sunday School teacher, the woman can’t even tell a KNOCK- KNOCK joke without crackin herself up so badly she can’t finish. And then she comes up with “COCK-EYED????!!!”

Of course she begged us not to tell a soul that SHE was the source of that joke. Well, in her defense one of her now-grown-up Sunday School boys told HER the joke. Sorry, Nans. Can’t keep that promise. I’m feelin a bit ‘cock-eyed’ myself today.

Monday, June 28, 2010

I have worked with my mother on several occasions. As her assistant in the Bridal Biz, I found Drema’s withering glares and extreme impatience to be more than I could handle. So I quit. As co-coordinator of fashion shows at the local shopping mall, I realized that my go-with-the-flow, see what happens next attitude did not mesh with Mom’s manic level of organization and micromanaging. So I quit. When I left my mother’s employ I was, on both occasions, happily and gratefully replaced by a pair of strictly organized, hyper-focused college –aged sisters whose give-and-take-charge personalities were much more compatible with my mother’s own Dictator-esque manner of management.

So when Mom asked me earlier this week to help her coordinate an upcoming wedding, I panicked. “Is Lauren out of town that weekend?” I asked, referring to her Bridal Assistant. Drema reminded me that this wedding was on the same day as Lauren’s own bridal shower. “Right. So I guess Jenn (Mom’s fashion show cohort and Lauren’s younger sis) will be with Lauren that day.” SIIGGGHHHHHH. “Sure.” I conceded. “I’ll do it. But I wanna get paid whatever you normally pay them. Even if I do suck more than they do at taking your orders.” Okay, I left that last part off, but I was thinkin it!

Upon accepting the job, I began negotiating my one-day contract. And I mean ONE DAY. I was not going to attend any pre-wedding meetings with The Bride. Mom would not give The Bride my home/work/cell phone numbers. I was not going to wear a head-set/microphone combo of any sort the day of the wedding (not that she had ever used anything technological like that before, but who knows what Lauren has thrown into the mix since I left!!). No name tags (I just hate them as a rule). Drema would not discuss with me any details of the wedding before the day of –except the night before as to the time I was to be there for the wedding. I was not going to attend the rehearsal. Surprisingly, Mom agreed to all of my demands. Then she presented me with the portfolio of the wedding.

Alarms, bells, sirens, and heart palpitations set in. Damn. I should have added the codicil that if The Bride turned out to be someone wretched, I could be excused from my duties. Holy Blushing Bride, I HATE this girl like Miley Cyrus hates Perez Hilton. She is, by all accounts a very sweet and charming girl. I just don’t like her. Which is my prerogative as a woman? I can hate another female simply because I feel like it.

Luckily, the wedding isn’t until August. Whether a rant about how I will vow to never again (yet again)work for/with my mother or about The Bride herself I am sure I will have an interesting tale to tell about that day!! Siigggghhhhhh…

Monday, June 14, 2010

House in Revolt

My cute lil 50’s era single story 3 BR, 1 BA brick box house is revolting against me. Less than three years ago,I rescued the damn thing from complete abandonment. When I saw the house from the street, I felt nothing special. Set too far back fromt the road, the curbide appeal consisted of a monstrous dead thorn bush and a dirt box front porch. But my mom talked me into a viewing and once inside, I was beyond charmed. Bigger than it looked from the outside, the buttery wam color on the walls and the new, plush carpet won me over. Not to mention the price! Amazed that it was within my budget and in a great neighborhood, I signed the mortgage 2 weeks later.

Within months of claiming ownership, the coat closet-sized bathroom flooded itself numerous times leading to a now-spongy subfloor. The roof was lifted off in sheets during a couple of awesome spring storms along with some siding around the eaves. Then there’s the lamp post in the front yard. It has been taken down by the amazing power of Mother Nature. A GORGEOUS and Buffy-strong "Chlamydia" (clemvidia? clamata?)vine has taken hold of it. We can’t remove the post because it is still hooked up to the electricity of the house. The decrepit fuse box is no help as the decades-old, barely legible hand-penciled writing on it has no ‘lamp post’ assignment. So there it is, a veritable Leaning Tower of White Trash. This week, the A/C went out. Seeing as how the unit is the original piece from the late 1970’s (and it is a BEAR! It takes up the entire kitchen pantry!). When I had a friend in the heating/cooling biz look at our furnace a few years ago, he said that it AND the a/c were built to last 15-20 years. *Siiigggggh* There is probably another Ozone hole above our house from all the chemicals that thing has been spitting out over the years.

I am not sure what I have done to incur the wrath of the spirit of this house. No one was living there when I bought it. You would think the house would be happy to have a family again. Too many beings (Mom, dad, kid, dog, cat, fish) harmoniously (mostly) cohabitating in a once desolate building. We have torn down the thorn bush, replaced it with a thriving pear tree sapling. In the back yard there is a swing set, new blueberry and raspberry bushes. We plant a veggie garden every year. We feed the birds, chipmunks and squirrels.

Maybe that is the problem. Maybe the house is a cranky geriatric who just wants to be left alone. Well, I got a KILLER APR as a new homeowner and I am locked into a 30 year mortgage. I like the neighborhood. I have the space in the front AND backyard to add on. So we are staying put. You hear that, House? You can be cranky all you want. I will still love you and take care of you as best I can. And I appreciate all you can do for us by keeping us safe, sleeping, playing and living under what is left of your roof.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Master of the Half Sandwich

I don't sleep well. Never have. For the past few years I have spent many restless nights squished between a sprawling 6'5," 200(+) pound giant and a tiny,frail pixie who smooshes herself into any and every nook and cranny of my body she can find to snuggle into. Needless to say, early mornings are NOT my best time of day. The neurons in my brian are barley firing before or AFTER coffee. So that must mean I get everything ready the night before for the next day, right? Nope. I feed pets,make coffee, prepare Gilly's lunch and snack, double-check her homework, and pick out her clothes all before 7:15-the deadline for having her dressed, complete with piggy tails and bows-every weekday. The kid is off to school by 7:30 and I have precious few minutes to chug some java, pick out my own work ensemble, maybe take a shower (if I didnt take one the night before), definitely put on my face and hair. There is usually no time for a packed lunch of my own. But today, schools were closed due to snow and I had some time to spare. I decided bit of left over chili and a half sandwich would be perfect!

I found myself perplexed to the point of paralyzation as I stared at the bounty of turkey sandwich ingredients before me. How does one MAKE a half sandwich? I didn't want two half pieces of bread left. And the cheese. It's a large square. It wasn't gonna fit on my half-sammy, if I ever figgerd out how to make it. I just kept STARING at the bread, willing it to spill it's secrets. Nothing came to me. Stupid bread, being all coy with it's knowledge.

Brian's 'Summie Sense' must've tingled bc he suddenly appeared beside me. He noisily slurped his hot coffee and said nothing. "I'm tryin to pack my lunch." I explained, still staring at the sandwich ingredients.

My mild-mannered giant nodded and slurrrped again. "How's it goin'?"

"I want to make a half-sandwich. But how? I'll have left over bread." I glanced up at him and saw that he was LOOKing at me.

"Are you serious?" Sllluuuurrrp!

I shrugged "Well, yeah. I mean, restaurants do it all the time but I guess they don't care 'bout the other half-slices. They know they'll use it. But when am I gonna have another half-sandwich?"

"You know this answer." Brian informed me in his usual mellow tone. Also, slluuurrrp!

"Well, I can't make a turkey sandwich fold-over. The stuff won't fit. Also, how am I gonna fit a square of cheese on a half sandwich? It's gonna be too big and I don't want all that cheese anyway. Hmmm." Time was closing in on me. I had a few moments left to figger this one before I had to dash out the door into the elements and on to work.

"Cut the bread, Summer." It sounded like a mantra to me. Like "Cut the bread" was a chant that was gonna help me mellow out and allow the answer come to me. Well, I didn't have time for a mystical answer, dammit, I needed one now! "HOW THE HELL DOES ONE MAKE A HALF SANDWICH?? I'll have two LEFT OVER SLICES, BRIAN! I DONT WANT LEFT OVER SLICES!! And the cheese? How will it FIT!!??"

"Put one slice back in the package. Cut one piece of bread in two. You will have two slices." I swear he sounded like a Kung Fu master explaining the Secret of Life to me. And it was getting on my nerves. I LOOKed at the bread and saw that Brian, Great Master of the Half Sandwich, was correct. If I sliced the one piece of bread down the middle,I would have my two slices. So I hacked up the bread, slopped on my fillings and stufffed my perfect half-sandwich in a baggie. I held it up for Brian to approve and to give me, his "Lil Grasshopper" a pat on the head.

What I got was "Sllllluurp!" and, "I woulda cut it into a triangle." Like I needed to make it more complicated! I kissed The Master goodbye and flew out the door.

A triangle. Sheesh! As for the cheese, I folded it, split it and gave the other half to the dog.

Probelm. Solved.