So we finally knocked a movie off of our growing "Must See" list.
Wolverine was certainly action-packed and there were plenty of gratuitous "Hugh is so hot" scenes. I must admit tho, that there were no where near enough nekkid butt cheeks in the movie. There were exactly two naked Hugh scenes and they were back-to-back. One in the lab and one in the farmhouse. I don't think he even took his shirt off after that. And wasn't the whole point of creating this movie to bring in the female audience? I mean, he had a lover in this movie. He was sweet and sensitive to her and the old folks on the farm. He didn't want his bro to kill a bunch of villagers. So if the producers wanted the women to be drawn in there should certainly have been a lot less clothing in the movie. And not once did we see Liev unclothed. THAT was disappointing for sure!! The fangs were sexy as hell, tho!
Having said that, I have a few questions about the plot.
I had no idea that Logan was immortal. I had no idea that he had a bro. How did we not know this from the other movies. I mean sure, he had bullet-to-the-brain induced amnesia. But during this movie, Sabertooth was hell-bent on killing him. And his reasoning seemed to be 'just because.' So why wouldnt he have popped up in the other movies. These days flicks have too many bad guys anyway. A brother looking for revenge would have been perfectly acceptable.
And in the beginning, why was Logan sick? Oh, and when did he become "Logan?" Was that his last name when he was a sick kid? bc Liev called him that kid name 1/2 the movie and the other half it was Logan. Like Jimmy or Petey or something. Anyway, was he sick bc of the mutation? Was it just then becoming active? And his lil bod was freaking out, in overdrive? Bc clearly the kid never knew about his healing powers and the bone daggers until he killed Liev's dad. Well, his dad, too I guess. I thot that was a bit confusing as well. Jimmy's mom cheated on her Doctor husband with Liev's dad who was a raging drunk? Ugh. That was stupid.
And how come the boys grew up to a certain point and stopped aging? I get that they were immortal. Well, actually, i don't. Not all Mutants are immortal, right? They are just people who have some screwy genes. Logan is regenerative but that started when he was 11 so it would make more sense that his body would keep him as he was right then when the mutation began. But I guess he had to grow up all hot and strong, right?
WHy was Sabertooth immortal? As far as I could tell, he didn't have regenerative powers. So why was he a bazillion years old?
And Gambit. What the CRAP was his power. And I had hoped that the kid playing him would have gotten hotter as a mutant. Bc I think he is creepy and ugly. Apparently I am alone in that opinion. Even straight guys I know who watch him as Riggins on Friday Night Lights understand that he is attractive. But not to me. I found myself distracted during his scenes tryng to figger him out. Both his power and his mystery hot factor.
Will.I.Am. was very good as Spectre. I was surpirsed that I had never noticed how attractive he is. I also never noticed that his name is just plain ol William. Hmmmm...
I was pleased to see Patrick Stewart at the end. But his CGI facelift was disturbing. Altho I know why it was necessary.
The extra scenes were disappointing.
I actually did enjoy the movie overall. I am a huge Hugh fan, and of course he was the whole reason I got pulled into the XMen movie franchise. Just that the plot was a little too...something.
Oh ok, I'll admit it. I just wish there were more butt cheeks in the movie!!
I agree. I still liked the movie. But there needed to be many more butt cheeks of the Hugh variety...
ReplyDelete